Motivational Music Monday: “One Foot” by Walk the Moon.

Cross my heart

And hope to die

Taking this one step at a time

I got your back if you got mine

One foot in front of the other

All that we have is each other

One foot in front of the other”

Walk the Moon has always been known for their uplifting, feel good music.  However, their lead single, “One Foot,” off of their 2017 album, What If Nothing, takes motivation to a whole new level.  Personally, I have been a long time fan of the band since a friend of mine showed me their song, “Shiver, Shiver,” which was off of their 2012 self-titled album.  I remember being immediately drawn in by the catchy-ness of the song right from the get-go, as lead singer Nicholas Petricca sang, “You grip your hands around my throat and you strip the buttons off my coat…”  which led directly into probably one of the catchiest choruses I have ever heard.  Watching this band evolve since then has really been a ride and I can’t help but fall more and more in love with them as they continue to dominate the alternative world.

walkthemoon

When I heard “One Foot” for the first time, I remember being taken back by it because it was definitely different from all of their previous releases.  Then as I continued to play it on repeat, the more empowering and meaningful the song became to me.  I started listening to it when I needed a pick-me-up, or just the simple encouragement to keep going.  To me, this song is about getting to wake up each day with the decision to keep going, or give up.  You never really know what today, or tomorrow is going to bring, but for some reason, even with that uncertainty we move forward anyway.  The uncertainty is the best part.  Uncertainty is the journey.  It is our motivation and with that motivation, we make that choice to persevere with, “one foot in front of the other.”

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.