FRANCESCA Interview.

 

One of the coolest things Monmouth University in West Long Branch, New Jersey has in their own student-run record label, Blue Hawk Records. Every semester the Applied Music Industry classes at Monmouth University release a compilation album where the students hold auditions and pick artists to be on the album, record, market, plan a release show, and perform many other tasks just like a real professional record label.  Recently, I had the honor of interviewing two of the artists on their new and upcoming compilation release titled, After Midnight, which will be hitting all music platforms on April 19, 2018.  Today I am happy to share with you an interview I did with the talented and lovely, FRANCESCA, who discussed her song on the album titled, “P.T.L.” and what the Blue Hawk Records experience was like for her.

FRAN3

1.) Thank you so much for doing this, I am really looking forward to the release of After Midnight!  I am excited to hear what you have recorded with Monmouth University’s, Blue Hawk Records this semester! What has it been like working alongside the label so far?  

Working alongside the label has been a wonderful experience. Everyone involved has been very supportive and encouraging. Through my journey, I met BJ, who ended up producing the beat for my song “P.T.L.” He is so talented and brought life to my creative vision. I believe it is important to practice professionalism in the music business, and Blue Hawk has shown this quality.

2.) When did you decide to audition to be featured on After Midnight?  Did it take any convincing? Why did you do it?

I was hesitant to audition. I kept coming up with reasons not to try until the night of, I emailed BHR and asked if they had room. I went right in, played the song and everyone seemed to like it. The next day I got an email that I was going to be featured. My Mom and I danced around the kitchen all morning!

 

3.) I know you had the opportunity to record at Lakehouse Studios in Asbury Park.  What was that experience like for you? Were you already familiar with that studio, or was it completely new?  Have you ever recorded your music before?

I’d never recorded at Lakehouse before, but I have worked in other small studios. It was stressful, but the outcome was amazing. I felt most confident in my vocal, which we did in one take.

4.) Can you tell us anything about the song you recorded? What is the name of it? Maybe what the song is about?

I recorded my song “P.T.L.” which is about being let down by past lovers. Being jaded and having an attitude is usually the outcome of having bad experiences in relationships. The song is a metaphor to emotional turmoil and it doesn’t necessarily have to be romantic. It’s like “when can I trust again?” I think everyone feels this way at some point.

FRAN2

5.) Where does your inspiration come from whenever you are writing music?  What is that writing process like for you?

Everything I write comes from my real feelings. No matter how hard I try to escape them, they always seep through in my music. I can’t write something that isn’t true or real. If I’m not emotionally connected to the song, I don’t want to sing it. Since my pre teen years, making songs have never been an option. I really believe songwriting is a lifestyle, and the only time you should write is when you have no choice.

6.) What top three albums have influenced you the most as a musician?

There have been so many artists that have inspired me over the years, it is hard to only select a few. Taylor Swift was my first inspiration to pick up a guitar, so her albums have driven me since her emerge. In highschool, I loved Amy Winehouse, but she’s just one great legend. Sade, Michael Jackson, Alicia Keys, Selena Quintanilla have all played a part in my song writing. The list continues!

7.) Do you plan on releasing any more music after the release of After Midnight? Perhaps maybe an album, or EP?  

I have a very exciting project coming out sometime in June. I spent the summer hosting my own show in Monmouth University’s radio station so all my friends regularly sent in suggestions. My playlists were growing every day. Soothing R&B tracks, Michael Jackson pop sounds and 70’s tunes all inspired me to write Rock W Me. It’s both groovy and powerful and is the perfect example of the way a songwriter deals with emotion. Since Rock W Me, the project has completely evolved. The new batch of songs that followed changed the whole dynamic of the album and what I wanted to say. My objective, attitude and style was completely different than before.

FRAN4

8.) Would you like to give any shout outs to any other local musicians, or bands?

Although I appreciate everyone that takes the risk of making music, there are a few that have been especially motivating. Lauren Patti was the first local artist I started listening too. I was finishing my senior year of highschool when she released her first project, Good Hangs – EP. Making an album was something I wanted to do since the day I wrote my first song at age twelve, so seeing her follow her passion gave me the courage to jump in. Ashley Mckinley is another strong female voice on the scene. Her songs are relatable and she’s a good role model. Her album Wishful Thinking is available on all music platforms. Ella Ross has been a kind friend, and I’ve seen a lot of creative and personal growth since her emerge. Dan Amato and his Sentimental Gentlemen are fun and know how to make people happy. All these qualities are important in being an artist on the scene: Be kind, be fun, be encouraging. We all just want to be heard.   

9.) What are your music goals for the rest of 2018?

To just keep writing and growing. Doing this has taken much emotion, time, and faith. I’m not so concerned on how many listens I will get following these releases. If one person in this world can relate to the messages of my songs, then I’ve succeeded.

10.) Where will everyone be able to find After Midnight?  

It will be available April 18 on all music platforms! Itunes, Apple Music, Spotify, etc. I can’t wait for you to hear it.

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.