Motivational Music Monday: “Here Forever” by The Ones You Forgot

Screen Shot 2018-05-14 at 5.27.45 PM

“I wanna travel back in time

And relive all the moments

Don’t say that you’re leaving

I want you here forever”

Less than a week ago, local pop rock band from Brick, New Jersey, The Ones You Forgot, released their first new single off their sophomore EP due out June 29, 2018, Too Afraid To Say, called, “Here Forever.”  After about three years full of anticipation for the band’s next move since the release of their first EP, Peaks and Valleys, “Here Forever,” was well WORTH the wait.  The Ones You Forgot aren’t messing around, as this new single captivates the ears and lives of others since its debut on May 10, 2018.

It has been quite some time since I wrote up a, Motivational Music Monday piece, but as soon as I heard, “Here Forever,” I knew I would have to bring the segment back this week because it touched my heart in ways, no local band specifically, has touched it before.  During my first listen of the song and each of the many listens that followed after that first initial listen, goosebumps filled my body and all of my emotions were tugged at once as I heard the first few opening notes being played on the guitar in the intro.  Then as soon as leader singer, Jenna Bruno, started singing and I heard her lyrics, that was when I lost it.  I felt connected and inspired all at once. 

toyf1

On New Noise Magazine, Jenna commented on the song and discussed the lyrics and the meaning behind them.  In short, she discussed how the song is about never being ready for the death of a loved one and being afraid of losing someone forever.  After reading this article, I’ve never related to such a personal topic more than this one in a song.  I really felt this one in my chest because five years ago I lost one of the most important people in my life, my father, and I completely understand not being ready to lose someone forever. I sure as hell wasn’t, which is why I connected with, “Here Forever,” so much.  Being someone who has experienced these feelings firsthand, the way this powerful concept was executed with music was nothing less than perfect and it excited me for the rest of the world who has gone through similar events in their lives.  Anyone who has gone through anything like this, will surely feel it in their chest just like I did when I listened to, “Here Forever,” for the first time.

So now the question is, why pick this song as this week’s Motivational Music Monday song?  Like I said before, it has been quite some time since I wrote up a Motivational Music Monday piece.  Sometimes I think this happens because once in a while, I have these lack-of-inspiration fits and I have trouble putting my finger on where exactly I would like to go with things next.  When I heard The Ones You Forgot’s, “Here Forever,” I just knew I needed to write something about it to tell the world how special I thought it was.  

I think the general concept of the fear of losing someone, is so common among the population of the world as a whole.  That is something everyone goes through at some point in their lives and it might not even necessarily be the fear over someone dying and losing them in that way.  It could be the fear of losing them in other ways, friendships and relationships included.  I know I fear losing those I hold close to my heart each and every day because there are certain people you find, that you can’t imagine living a life without and you never want to lose them.  “Here Forever,” captures these feelings and I have never heard anyone discuss such a powerful concept in their music, in this way before, making it even more special.  

IMG_3757

The truth is, the fear of loss is instilled in everyone and I can’t wait to embrace the rest of the songs off of The Ones You Forgot’s second-coming EP, Too Afraid To Say,” when it comes out on June 29, 2018.  

Until then, be sure to take a listen to, “Here Forever,” if you haven’t already!  Or go listen to it for the fifth, tenth, or maybe twentieth time this week if you are like me.  “Here Forever” motivates  me to hold the ones important to me even closer and love them harder… What does it motivate you to do?

Go show The Ones You Forgot some love on all of their social media accounts including Facebook, Instagram, Youtube, and Twitter!

Life starts with music and gives us a place to go whenever we do fear. 

-Kelli 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.