A Dedication to My Late Father: Top 5 Songs That Remind Me of Dad

February 5, 2013 my life changed FOREVER. I was 16 years old when I had to say goodbye to my very best friend, my dad. Today it’s been 9 years since he left my family and I’s lives, but trust me, he lives on in our hearts forever BIG time

My dad was always my biggest fan, especially when it came to music. He was the one who sat next to me in “his” chair, while I played guitar on the couch and sang. He would often tell me if I was sounding good, or would give me the good old… “You can do better.” My dad was basically the one who took me to ALL of my music lessons growing up. My teacher was one of his best childhood friends, which only brought my dad and I closer, as well as my teacher. Dad had never been a musician himself, but he was 110% a music lover. He grew up falling in love with bands like Pink Floyd, Aerosmith, Journey, and so much more. I remember helping him load songs onto the iPod shuffle I gave to him, which used to be mine until my parents upgraded my iPod back in the day (you know, when iPod shuffles were a thing). We would sit in the basement for hours as we burned old CDs he wanted on his shuffle and he would listen to the music all day, all night. His love for it inspired me. Because of him, I was introduced to the beauty that was classic rock, meanwhile, Mom showed me stars like Michael Jackson, The Beach Boys, Shania Twain, and Faith Hill. They gave me the perfect combo to grow up listening to.

Anyways, before my dad passed away, there were certain songs that I specifically remember him bopping too. Some of those I still hear on the radio today and those are the songs that make me believe he is always watching/listening to me. Those songs make me believe in the afterlife because every time I’ve ever needed a really hard pick-me-up, songs like “Some Nights” by Fun have always played on the radio (we will get to that). This blog is not meant to be sad, but meant to be reflective on how music doesn’t just take you back to moments, but it can take you back to certain people. I used to be quiet about my loss until recent years, but I have realized overtime it is okay to miss someone you love who has passed and share how much you miss them from time to time. Maybe I am just learning how to cope. I miss my dad everyday and that’s okay. He was a good dad. I hope some of you reading this today find the music that helps you remember someone you love, who is no longer here anymore too.

Without further ado, in his honor today, I would like to present to all of you: “A Dedication to My Late Father: Top 5 Songs That Remind Me of Dad.”

Let’s get started…

5.) “Mr. Wonderful” by Allstar Weekend

A summer or two before Dad passed, he and my mom had took my closest friends at the time and I to see Allstar Weekend over at The Stone Pony in Asbury Park, New Jersey. Randomly enough, my Dad grew pretty obsessed with this song for no other rhyme or reason, other than it being “really catchy” and it “having a good beat.” He grew so into it that eventually it became his ringtone on his phone all the way up until the day he passed away. Whenever I think about him loving this song so much, it honestly just makes me chuckle. I used to be kind of embarrassed that this song was his ringtone when I was younger, but looking back at it now, it was the most precious thing. My Mom and Dad were always taking my friends and I to shows and I don’t think words can express how grateful I am that they ever did that for me… for us. They realized my love for music at a young age and they supported it, always. Mom and Dad were always in the venue somewhere with us and they never complained about it once.

4.) “Secrets” by One Republic

“Secrets” was kind of another random song my Dad fell in love with all the way up until he passed. In fact, this was his ringtone before “Mr. Wonderful” by Allstar Weekend was. In addition to “Secrets” by One Republic, he also equally loved, “All the Right Moves,” but I was just looking to include one One Republic song instead of both here. However, I would definitely say he loved them both pretty equally. He loved both so much, he actually had the Waking Up album in his car and he listened to it ALL THE TIME. He pretty much loved these two songs for the same reason he loved “Mr. Wonderful”… he thought they were CATCHY. Let’s be honest, he was so right though. I remember being in the car with him when he heard both One Republic Songs on the radio for the first time. He was begging to know who the artist was and at the time, I thought it was the coolest thing. My Dad had a HUGE thing for One Republic.

3.) “Faithfully” by Journey

Speaking of songs in the car, I wouldn’t say, “Faithfully” by Journey SPECIFICALLY reminds me of my Dad as much as Journey reminds me of him as a whole. I picked “Faithfully” because it was on the first Journey Greatest Hits album. This was an album my dad almost ALWAYS played in his car. He was a huge Journey fan and this is one of my personal favorite Journey songs. He was always listening to their greatest hits album, or listening to them on that iPod shuffle I gave him, which I mentioned earlier. Journey was one of his all-time favorite classic rock bands, so whenever I hear them now, I ALWAYS think of my dad first. He introduced me to them and to classic rock and I am forever grateful. I could have listed a Pink Floyd or Aerosmith song too, but Journey was the most stand out because he really did listen to that greatest hits album all the damn time. Trust me, I remember.

2.) “Over You” by Cassadee Pope (originally performed by Miranda Lambert)

I think Cassadee Pope’s version of “Over You” by Miranda Lambert will always be one of my favorite songs that always makes me think of my Dad. Not only does the song talk about loss (in this case, the lyrics really REALLY hit home for me right when we lost him), but it is so emotional. I will never forget when my Mom, Dad, and I were all sitting on our couch at home watching The Voice when Cassadee Pope performed this song live (Season 3 winner). By the end of the performance, I never saw my Dad cry EVER, but this was one of the very very few times I saw my Dad get all choked up. I remember my Mom and I looking at him and asking, “Are you okay?” We kind of chuckled as he replied, “It was just such a beautiful song.” The lyrics to this song are ghostly to me to this day.  Miranda Lambert wrote this song about Blake Shelton’s late brother, back when they were a couple. It hit home a little too hard and still does to this day considering it was snowing when my dad passed and it was February… The lyrics in this song read:

“Weatherman said it’s gonna snow

By now I should be used to the cold

Mid-February shouldn’t be so scary

It was only December

I still remember the presents, the tree, you and me

But you went away

How dare you?

I’ll miss you

They say I’ll be okay

But I’m not going to ever get over you

Living alone here in this place

I think of you, and I’m not afraid

Your favorite records make me feel better

‘Cause you sing along

With every song”

Looking back, I really truly loved that my Dad loved this song too. It makes it that much more special.

 1.)“Some Nights” by fun.

Last, but ABSOLUTELY NOT least… “Some Nights” by fun. was my Dad’s favorite song of all time before he passed. Right before he passed away, it was really really popular and was on the radio allllllllllllllll the time. Like, he would for real jam out to this song no joke and my Mom and I remember it clearly to this day. Once he heard that opening vocal, “Some nights I stay up…” it was OVER. When those drums kicked in, my dad was SO INTO IT. It was honestly the last song he fell in love with. I saved it for the end of this article because my mother and I believe he is watching us to this very day, whenever we hear it play on the radio. Crazy enough, we really only hear it play on the radio anymore, whenever it is out of the blue and usually, during a time when we NEED to hear it. Specifically, I will never ever forget being really sick for a long time last year (maybe we will talk about that too someday) and coming out of my first doctor’s appointment, my mom turning on the car and “Some Nights” was playing when she turned her keys. I started crying. Dad told me I was going to be alright. It has randomly played over the course of 9 years now whenever Mom and I have needed it most.

        Again, this blog is not meant to be sad, but meant to be reflective on how music can not only take you back to moments, but to certain people. Music always takes me back to my Dad and that is one of the biggest reasons why I still do it. Once my biggest fan, still is and always will be. Music is the best thing on the planet and I will never not be grateful for how powerful it is. I hope to hear what songs remind my readers of someone they loved, who they lost too.

Thank you to whoever took the time to read this blog, it took a lot to write it.  Music has many powers, but this might be my favorite one. Memories.

Rest In Peace Dad. I love and miss you always.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.