5 Songs Why Lights is One of the MOST Underrated Artists.

lights4

Anyone who is a part of the Lights fanbase aka, “The Lights Army,” could easily tell you she is queen.  Not only a queen of music, but she has also conquered the world of comic books with her, Skin & Earth comic book series, which coincides with her newest album also titled, Skin & Earth.  If I am going to be real here, Lights has more talent in a single pinky than most.  However, she still remains in my opinion, one of the most underrated artists I know.  This past Sunday, February 26th, I was lucky enough to see her in Philly at the Theatre of the Living Arts for her, We Were Here Tour.  It was my first time ever seeing her headline a show, so naturally I was really excited because I am a big fan of her myself.  However, it was when the acoustic portion of her set began, I started thinking to myself, “Wow, Lights is really one of the most underrated artists I think I have ever been a fan of, if not THE MOST underrated.”  It wasn’t just the emotion in her voice, but the genuity in her lyrics.  She had everyone in the room at the palm of her hand and even I could feel it.

With that being said, here are “5 Songs Why Lights is One of the Most Underrated Artists”:

1.) “Drive My Soul”

“When you’re gone

Will I lose control?

You’re the only road I know

You show me where to go

Who will drive my soul?”

So, “Drive My Soul,” was actually one of the songs she performed during the acoustic portion of the show I got to see in Philly this past Sunday.  Somebody held up a sign, requesting she play it acoustically and being the angel she is, she did not let that fan down.  I am so happy she played it.  The song is originally off of her first album, The Listening (2009), and  I think this might actually be my favorite song by her now.  Her performance and the song itself really spoke to me.  Personally, there are so many stories to be told throughout the many experiences a person will have during the life of a car they own.  This song is specifically unique because she uses driving as a metaphor to symbolize a part of life, you cannot live without.  It does not necessarily have to be a boyfriend or girlfriend, the song speaks to any element you want it too.  Everyone has that someone, or something they cannot live without.  Everyone’s someone, or something is different and this song is relatable enough to speak to any of those aspects, which makes it so special and a song that should be more well-known.

 

   2.)  “In The Dark I See”

“It’s you who brings the morning

And you who takes the sun when I sleep

You’re the only who stuck around

For me when I was losing

Faith in what I thought I would be

You’re the only one in the dark I see”

“In The Dark I See,” is not actually featured on any of Lights’ albums, but 100% should have been.  The song was recorded and released through an iTunes Session back in 2013 and it is easily, one of the most beautiful songs I have ever heard.  This song can definitely take you into a another world and it also shows a different side of Lights.  I feel like there is a lot of vulnerability in this song and I can’t help but feel vulnerable everytime I listen to it myself.  Throughout life, you find these people, or maybe just a person who helps you see the light even during your darkest moments.  Sometimes it feels like those people are the only thing you can see during those times and this song truly does that concept justice.  That is another concept just about anyone can relate to and this song is guaranteed to make anyone have the feels.  

 

     3.)  “Muscle Memory”

“When I am alone, I see you in the dark

I talk into the empty like you were with me

Started on a cold night, felt you in the low light

Noticing a reflex taking over me

I see you and I reach, muscle memory

I feel you endlessly, muscle memory”

Out of all of Lights’ song, I always felt like, “Muscle Memory,” was one of her best and most beautifully written songs to this day.  The concept she writes about in this song is so unique and definitely deserves more attention than it has ever gotten.  For those who don’t know, the term, “muscle memory,” refers to the ability to reproduce a movement without any conscious thought.  Usually this happens because when you are used to moving in a certain way frequently.  In this particular song, Lights talks about being so used to someone’s presence, you still see and feel them even when they are not there.  One of the other lyrics in this song is:

“When I’m playin’ games

When I’m drinkin’ wine

And I see your glass

Sittin’ next to mine”

I feel like that lyric makes this song really personal and it just makes the concept more clear.  You miss somebody so much, even their objects are present in your eyes, even if they are not physically there.  

 

  4.)  “Follow You Down”

“So just call me, you know I will be waiting

For you as you walk towards that redemption sound

You know I’ll be the stillness when you’re shaking

And when you fall overboard, I’ll follow you down”

I actually heard, “Follow You Down,” for the first time ever when I saw Lights in Philly this past Sunday.  This was another song she played during her acoustic set and she explained how she had written it for a film, but the film fell through so she kept the song for herself and it is on her album, Midnight Machines.  After hearing it for the first time and overlooking the song myself previously, it made me realize how overlooked it probably has been by people this whole time.  Truth is, this song is another beautiful and relatable Lights’ masterpiece.  In the past, Lights has also has said this song was her favorite off the record and listening to it definitely shows because it is executed in such a raw, emotional way it can really resonate with someone, like it did with me.  I think this is a song about being there for someone through their darkest times.  It doesn’t necessarily have to be in the love kind of way and it applies to any relationship.  That concept of staying with some someone through anything is really powerful, making this one of the most powerful Lights’ songs out there.

 

   5.)  “Timing is Everything”

“There I was, none the wiser

Both of us, different trajectories

Who’d have thought we’d be right here in this spot

Timing is everything”

“Timing is Everything,” is off Lights’ album, Siberia (2013).  For me, this has always been one of my favorite songs of hers because of the concept behind it, being that fate plays a huge part in our lives.  Whether it be fate playing a part in our love lives or our friendships, it has affected us in the people we meet and everything we are meant to do.  Sometimes it takes being in the right place at the right time.  Suppose if one thing changed the path of someone you love currently are in love with, you might not have had the chance to fall in love with them.  Personally, I am a believer in fate and everything happening for a reason.  Like in Lights’ song, “Timing is Everything,” and another concept everyone can relate to.

 

 

All rights to media used in this blog are reserved to the original producers. I do not take credit for any images, or recordings used in the write up of this blog. 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.