The Carousers Interview.

 

I am really excited to be able to share with you guys a recent interview I had with two members, Joey Affatato (vocalist/lead guitarist) and Cassidy Crosby (backing vocals/bassist) of the West Long Branch local punk band, The Carousers.  Since the release of their debut self-titled EP back in October, The Carousers have been taking the local scene by storm, playing shows nearly every week at venues like The Wonder Bar in Asbury Park to The Millhill Basement in Trenton, New Jersey.  It is safe to say they are one of the most hard working bands around.  With that being said, here is my interview with The Carousers!

thecarousers6

1.)  Let’s jump right into it!  Back in October you guys released your debut self-titled EP, how has the response been to it so far?

Cassidy: The response has been great! People are really seeming to dig it, and we’ve had some great reviews and write-ups of it online!

2.)  What was the recording process like for you guys for this specific EP? What studio did you guys go to?

Cassidy:  I think we all collectively enjoyed the recording process. We recorded our record at SRG Studios in Hamilton NJ with Sean Glonek.  Since we had done several waves of demoing on our own, we were able to knock out the recording in 3 days. Each track has the basic drums, bass, vocals, and several electric guitar tracks, however we had some time to add some keyboards, acoustic guitars, percussion, and other auxiliary instruments, which we think really added to the songs.

3.)  I feel like whenever a band goes into a studio, there is always that one song you guys record and everyone in the room falls in love with it immediately.  Did you guys have one of those songs?  

Cassidy: Our song “Cracked Pot” was definitely a collective favorite during the recording process.  It has a different feel than the rest of our songs, making it the most low-key track on the album. However I think this diversity adds to the EP as a whole, and it was just such a fun song to record.

Joey:  Yeah, I definitely knew “Cracked Pot” was going to be really solid after we tracked it.  Cass did some great harmonies on that one – we always get compliments on how well our voices blended on that.  I was a big fan of “Another World” too, probably because it’s a band favorite.  I really think they all came out great though and shine through in their own ways!

thecarousers2

4.)  It is really exciting to see how active you guys are in the local scene right now and it seems like you have shows every week, or so.  What is the band’s favorite venue to play? Why?

Joey:  I really like The Saint a lot in Asbury.  The sound has been good every time we play there and a bunch of people are always out.  Millhill Basement is a fun spot too – cheap beer is a plus!!

Cassidy: House Of Independents in Asbury Park is an awesome place to play too, we’ve played there a couple times and the stage and room are great.

5.)  Now that we know The Carousers favorite venue to play, can you all agree on your favorite original song to play live?

Joey:  Probably “She’s The Devil” for me.  Especially if we’re playing a house show, I’d say that one is our biggest jam.   It’s really cool to see our Monmouth friends singing along!

Cassidy: I agree with Joey, “She’s The Devil” is always a banger at house shows. I think “Another World” is also super fun to play live, because its punchier and different than our other tunes.

6.)  Any hilarious, unexpected, and/or, memorable show moments you can guys can recall?

Joey:  Hahah…  I remember one time we played Roxy and Dukes.  I think it was our first time and I broke a string…  I remember I had to switch over guitars and Cass had the stage to talk for a few minutes.  She was really uncomfortable and still hates me for it, but I thought it was pretty funny.

Cassidy: Joey never broke guitar strings until this winter, and now it happens all the time.  He once broke strings on both of his guitars in one set. Our friend Vito had to get his other guitar from the car while we played, and one song in he broke a string on that.  Andy and I were just laughing the whole time.

Joey:  Anthony Vito is not only a great photographer,  but a great friend, especially in my time of need!  If you’re reading this, thanks again bud!!

thecarousers47.)  The last EVER Warped Tour lineup is getting announced soon.  Any bands you all would like to see play it?

Cassidy: Personally, I’d love to see Blink-182, Offspring, Sum 41, Jimmy Eat World , some old school pop punk.  Or OG punk bands like The Descendents or Pennywise, that would be rad.

Joey:  I’ve never been to Warped, but if any one of those bands played, I’d get tickets immediately.

8.). If you guys had to change your band name, what would your new band name be, and why would you choose that name?

Cassidy: Beef.

Joey:  I second that.  Haha.

thecarousers7

9.)  I heard you guys know the Devil man. Can you confirm?

Joey:  I’d run while you still can!!!!

10.). Are there any other local bands you guys would like to give a shout out to?

Joey:  Definitely dudes in CK5 and The Vansaders.  Both are bands we’ve had a lot of fun playing with and are just great bands in general.   Would love to get more gigs with Jean Pool too – just saw they got a cool new shirt I need to snag!

11.)  What are some of The Carousers’ goals for 2018?

Joey:  I’d really like for us to play Starland Ballroom.  Open up for a bigger band like The Menzingers or Bouncing Souls.  That’d be a dream come true.

Cassidy: I agree with Joey! I’d also like to start branching out and tour outside of New Jersey.

Joey:  Touring is a definite too.  We’re in the talks of doing a few weekenders, so keep an eye out!

12.)  Where can everyone find your music?

Cassidy: We’re on all music platforms! Spotify, Itunes, Apple Music, YouTube, BandCamp, SoundCloud, Amazon, you name it!

 

 

I Do Not Own The Photos Used.  All Rights Belong to the Original Photographers, Liam Frank and Anthony Vito Cosentino.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.