Motivational Music Monday: “Hard Times” by Paramore

 

paramoreht

“(Hard times) Gonna make you wonder why you even try

(Hard times) Gonna take you down and laugh when you cry

(These lives) And I still don’t know how I even survive

(Hard times)

(Hard times)”

Ever since I was in the fifth grade, Paramore has always had a special place in my heart.  I still remember when I heard, “Crushcrushcrush,” for the first time at an old friend of mine’s pool party.  She handed everyone out CDs as party favors and that song was on it and YOU BET, I played that on repeat in my parents’ car for months. I WAS OBSESSED.  However, that song was released back in 2007 and now fast forward 11 years and they are not the Paramore I grew up with, but a new and grown-up Paramore, of course I am still a fan.

I am not gonna lie, when I heard their first single off of their newest album, After Laughter (2017), it took a few listens to adjust to their new, synthy-80s-but-fun and catchy sound.  But of course like with anything Paramore releases, I wound up falling in love, “Hard Times.”  In fact, I wound up finding a lot of motivation listening to, “Hard Times,” which is why it is this week’s Motivation Music Monday song.  

afterlaughter

For me, one of the reasons why this song is so motivational, is because quite literally, everybody goes through these, “Hard Times.”  Everytime you are experiencing something difficult, those experiences actually make you wonder why you try sometimes.  I know personally, I am always left wondering how I get through some of the things life throws at me and I don’t know how I manage to survive.  The first verse of this song always hit home for me:

All that I want

Is to wake up fine

Tell me that I’m alright

That I ain’t gonna die

All that I want

Is a hole in the ground

You can tell me when it’s alright

For me to come out

As imperfect people with imperfect lives, I think we have each experienced a morning or maybe even multiple mornings, when all we wanted was for things to be okay the minute we wake up and start our days.  Although you might want to bury yourself into a hole in the ground because you would rather hide from your troubles than face them, they are a part of life.  You can try to run from life, but when it hits you, it hits you real hard.  I think that is something everyone experiences and Paramore’s, “Hard Times,” reassures us that no single person is alone in experiencing the neverending plot twists life throws at us.  Everyone goes through things, you just have to do your best.  That is why, “Hard Times,” is this week’s Motivational Music Monday song. 

 

All rights to the images, lyrics of the song, and audio used belonged to Paramore and the original producers of the material. 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.