Drive, Kid: ‘Picturesque’ EP Review

drivekidpicturesque

Where do I begin?  Well, I have known Drive, Kid practically since they started out as a band last year as freshman at Monmouth University in West Long Branch, New Jersey.  They had auditioned for Blue Hawk Records semesterly compilation, the student-run record label I am currently Vice President of, and I immediately fell in love with their pop-punk flair.  Maybe I am just a sucker for pop-punk, but I really like what I heard as members, Mark Rodriguez and Nick Manduley, played, “This May Be a Map,” on two acoustic guitars. They released their first self-titled EP, back in the October of 2016 and now they are back with their brand EP titled, Picturesque, due out Friday, March 9th.  Lucky for me, Drive, Kid gave me an exclusive first listen of the EP before its release and I am excited to share my thoughts on it:

The first song off, Picturesque, which is titled, “Cheese,” is only a total of  55 seconds long. My immediate first thoughts were, “That bass!” which was then followed by, “That feedback!”  But the energy behind each of those 55 seconds, makes for a perfect introduction into the four song EP that will keep you enticed enough to listen to more.  Not only is there a lot of energy behind this track, but the concept is quite hilarious as Mark and Nick sing about a place I think all of us have been familiar with at some point… Chucke Cheese.  Personally for me, it does not get more pop punk than this song right here.

On a more serious note, “Cheese,” is followed by a the track, “Map,” which happens to be the first song I ever heard by Drive, Kid last year and it just went through a little name adjustment.  Not only is the main guitar riff incredibly catchy, but the movement between that lead guitar riff and the drums is difficult to not get stuck in your head. Definitely a song that stays true to pop punk roots.  However, one of my favorite things about, “Map,” is the lyrics and the concept behind it. The song talks about going off to college for the first time and how scary it can be, leaving your old life behind. However, no matter how scary it might seem at first, eventually you get used to it.  College and the experiences you have while you are there, become something you learn to love. I think that is something every college student goes through and I love how relatable it is.

The third track off the EP is a song titled, “Still Sunshine.”  This song happens to be the one unreleased full band song that did not have an acoustic version on their self-titled EP.  However, it definitely stands out on, Picturesque.  Something I can really appreciate about the track, is the layout of it.  I specifically am a huge fan of the drums in this song and where they lay throughout the track.  They really are the driving force behind this one and they really compliment everything that is going on in the track.  I also was a big fan of the two different vocal parts going on in the bridge and everything that happens after Mark’s belt, plus that guitar solo.  That moment was complete magic on this EP and it is really something to be recognized.

Concluding, Picturesque, is the song, “Glass,” which is definitely the emotional powerhouse of the whole entire EP.  I think it is safe to say this song was my personal favorite out of all four tracks and it was re-imagined so perfectly in a band setting.  I feel like, “Glass,” is a song I imagine listening to while sitting outside in the dark underneath the stars. The emotion behind all of it can be piercing, instrumentally and vocally, which is why I can really appreciate this track and I think anyone could because of that matter.  Everything works really well with each other in this track and there is no better end to Drive, Kid’s EP, Picturesque.

With all of that being said, Picturesque, again comes out on Friday, March 9th and will be available on iTunes, Apple Music, Bandcamp, Amazon Music, Spotify, and Youtube!  Please go support and show some love to Drive, Kid and give their new EP a listen!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.