Motivational Music Monday: “Can We Hang On?” by Cold War Kids

coldwarkids .png

“Think about the old days

What we’ve been through to survive

Do we get better with time?

Tell me I’m wrong

I’m looking to you always

We follow the same guiding light

Passing like ships in the night

Can we hang on?”

Believe it or not, I on heard, “Can We Hang On?” by the Cold War Kids for the first time  two days ago. I was on my way to work, listening to ALT 92.3 Radio, and it came on just as I was pulling out of my development.  I like to call things like this fate. Immediately, I fell in love with the song and made sure I saved it on my Spotify so I wouldn’t forget to listen to it later.  However, it was exactly what I was going to need to get me through the rest of the rough day I knew I was in for and that it had to be this week’s Motivational Music song.

I always knew of Cold War Kids and I particularly knew their song, “First.”  Then again, everyone probably knows that song. But I have also heard other songs of theirs in passing, without knowing their names and I always thought they were a really cool band.  Now, since I heard this song, I have been listening to them non-stop. “Can We Hang On?” is off of Cold War Kids’ album, LA DIVINE.  It just clicked with me on another level and I related to it to the point where it was a little too real.

coldwarkids2

I think the thing that fascinates me the most about this song how strong the message of unknowing is throughout it.  It is basically a hopeful love song, that looks back with nostalgia on the good old days, but there is an uncertainty about the future.  “Can We Hang On?” focuses a lot on how to stay strong when things get hard in a relationship. At the beginning of any relationship, it always feels like it is all fun and games, but it is trying to withstand those difficult times, that the relationship is tested.  At the end of the day, it is about whether you get better and stronger from those difficult times, or not. This leads to that feeling of uncertainty for the future.

Personally, I think I really clung to this song when I heard it for the first time because it really hit home for me.  I never have been a fan of uncertainty when it comes to the future. Honestly, I don’t think anyone is. But what I do think is that be uncertain, is to be brave.  Uncertainty drives us to take risks. Whether it is risks on people, jobs… etc. Uncertainty is a journey and so are relationships. Sometimes you don’t know where either will go, but at the end of the day it is about whether you can hang on, or not.  

“Can We Hang On?” is this Monday’s Motivational Music Monday song because I think it helps us feel a lot less alone in the world of uncertainty.  At some point, we all wind up there. Sometimes we even return there, maybe even multiple times. It is okay not to know what it coming next. You’re not supposed to know.  There is no way of knowing what is going to happen tomorrow, or in a week, month, or year from now. But the point is that eventually we figure that out. One day we will wind up exactly where we are supposed to be and who you’re going to be with.  The choice is yours as to whether you choose to hang on, or not.

 

Be sure to tune in next Monday for the next Motivational Music Monday.

Life starts with music.

-Kelli ♫

 

https://www.instagram.com/p/BRorGDTg4J0/?taken-by=coldwarkids&hl=en

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.