NGXB Interview.

 

Right from my own hometown in Brick, New Jersey surfaces a talent that should NOT be overlooked.  Nicholas George Xavier Blum, aka NGXB, is making his hometown proud and is making a name for himself in music right now as he gets ready to enter the televised music competition airing tomorrow April 17, 2018 called, Celebration of Music.  From four year old to now, NGXB has been working on mastering the piano and it seems like he is not too far from accomplishing his dreams as only a sophomore in college.  Lucky for me, I was able to talk to him about the show and what it would mean for him to win the competition.

30688596_527535837640981_2641355104074072064_n

1.) Let’s start with a little introduction about yourself.  Who is Nicholas George Xavier Blum, also known as, NGXB?  

“NGXB” is a pianist, singer, and actor from the heart of Central Jersey.  I am a Sophomore at the University of the Arts, majoring in Piano Performance with a concentration in jazz.

2.) When did you start playing the piano?  What made you continue to see it through?

I started playing the piano since I was four years old.  My father, who went to Mason Gross School of the Arts for Classical Performance, has been giving me lessons since.  Since then it was an interesting journey with the piano. In middle school I gave up the piano. My freshman year of high school I slowly started to get back into it, and then by the end of my Sophomore year of high school, I realized this is what I wanted to do with my life, and nothing else!

 3.) Do you look up to any other pianists, or musicians in general?  Have any of them inspired your style?

Pianists and musicians I look up to are Billy Joel, Queen, George Gershwin, Franz Liszt, Frankie Valli, and Liberace, just to name a few!

Screen Shot 2018-04-16 at 2.10.03 PM

4.) Are there any pieces that you enjoying playing the most? If so, which ones?  

My favorite pieces to play are “Rhapsody in Blue” by George Gershwin, “Liebestraum No. 3” by Franz Liszt, and Liberace’s version of “Beer Barrel Polka.”

5.) Do you ever play any gigs? If so, where and which was your favorite so far?  

Yes I do! I play or weddings, galas, corporate events, pit gigs for musicals, and private events.  My favorite gig was recently playing for the new musical “Cowboy Bob” at the Polyphone Festival in Philadelphia.

6.) So I see there are A LOT of exciting things happening in your life right now! One of them specifically being that you are going to be on the television show, Celebration of Music! What can you tell me about the show?

 

Celebration of Music is a new television talent series that showcases selected people to show off their talent, and I was selected as one of the people!  The winner of this show is determined by public voting, and the winner gets flown out to LA to perform on national television, and I get to record a single, and every other opportunity that comes my way!

 

7.) How did you get on the show?  I know it is still early, but what has the experience been like so far?  

The experience has been great so far. I got an email from my school saying that there’s a tv show looking for people to apply.  I sent in what was required, for the application, and about three weeks later i got an email saying I was a contestant! Since then, it was all about filling out paperwork, and I recorded my actual performance for the show!  I played Liberace’s version of “Beer Barrel Polka”. And now I’m starting to promote me being on the show! I’m loving the experience so far!

30709336_527535777640987_671331584825098240_n

8.) Have you met any cool, or other talented people on the show?

I actually have not met any of the other contestants yet.

9.) What would it mean for you to win this competition?  

This will absolutely mean the world to me if I win this competition.  April 29th, the host of the show, Ethan Bortnick, will announce the winner of the show at his concert at Musikfest at Steelstacks in Bethlehem, PA.  My dreams will come true if I win this competition! You can get tickets for Ethans concert on his website!

10.) When will your episode on Celebration of Music be aired?

 

 The episode I will be on will be this Tuesday, April 17th, at 6:30PM on PBS39.  The show will be aired in the Pennsylvania, South Jersey area.

 

11.) Do you have anyone you would like to give a shout out to?  

Shoutout to anyone who has a love and passion for music and wants to pursue it as a career.  Don’t let anyone tell you that it’s a waste of time. As long you work hard at it, and take every opportunity you can to put yourself out there, you’re doing the right thing!

12.) Where can people find some of your past performance?  

Everyone can check my past performances on Facebook and Youtube at NGXB Music!

 

 

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.